Leave a comment

Malf

“Malf”

It moved in slow motion, the world, as I opened my eyes to behold the thriving city below. From my perch, everything seemed so distant and so much quieter than its usual rush of life. My eyes scanned the network of streets, with pupils adjusting to the bronze light of the sun through the slow but thick rise of steam. There wasn’t much I could do from up here, nothing but wait. Waiting got old, though, and I was never one to sit around.

I straightened my light body, standing up upon the edge of the domed roof. With a single, solid leap, I thrust myself into hollow air. On my back, gears turned rapidly; my makeshift wings spread out to balance my body. The force of the air rippled through my trench coat and threatened to pull my hair from its fixing. I kept my arms near to my sides and without effort, I was gliding down past stories upon stories of towers; cutting through the idle steam until the sounds of the city grew louder.

The sounds, they filled my ears. The clicking of gears, the whistles of pipes, the hissing of steam, and the chaos of voices forced themselves into my mind. I focused my thoughts on landing, narrowing my eyes at the wide windowsill that stuck out on the second floor of a library. There my bare feet touched down lightly, and my wings folded up behind me.

I slid around the corner of the building, glancing two stories down at the shadowed ally below. It was nearly empty, much different from the bustling main streets and stations. Only a few men stood here; they were hunched over by the thick, brass pipes that ran all along the walls and bases of the buildings. I couldn’t hear them speak for the noise of the city streets drowned them out.

I knew these men; they were always up to no good. They always hid beneath their dark and flowing coats, with their top hats tilted to hide their long faces. Never would they take no for an answer. They hated me.

One of them looked up, eyes blocked out by the tinted glass of his goggles. I followed his blank gaze and that’s when I saw the boy, that little naive boy. He hadn’t a clue what he was walking into, but I can’t blame him. When I was a boy his age, I had been just has oblivious. I had walked in on men like these and been beaten to a pulp, knocked down and nearly killed like my parents. Bad things like that always have a different turn out, though, because that was how my role in this city started.

With the endless workings of thieves and gangs in this city of steam, there had to be someone to stop it. I had taken the safety of the everyday citizen as my responsibility because the police in this place, with their navy blue uniforms and brass pocket watches, never did a thing to stop the crime. Someone had to fill in for their pointlessness. That’s what I did, and I was quite well known for it. I fought off the gangs with mechanical hands, turned in what was stolen, and put to death the trouble. It was exhausting, but it was a small price to pay for protecting a city of gears and steam.

So, just as the man began to make an advancing move, I dove, swooping down into the heat and mist of the ally and pulling the child up. Their eyes followed me, my agile figure reflecting angrily in their mechanic’s goggles. I smirked as I brought the little boy along with me in ascending motion until we reached a main road. I set him down on the sidewalk and he glanced up at me. “Thanks, Malf,” He said shortly with a broad smile. Then he ran off, his worn shoes padding on the pavement.

I watched him for a moment, remembering what it was like in my own childhood. The flashback was short-lived, though. There were more important things to do. I sighed and took off down another alleyway, pushing off into the air and taking to the sky. Watching the city grow smaller beneath me, I smiled and then looked back up at the horizon in its bronze hue. I soared as my heart beat with the never-ending and mechanical rhythm of the city; there was nothing that could be better than this.

 

Malf

Leave a Reply

